May 13: Unconventional Love

Over the weekend, we explored different ways to love. Today, tell us about the most unconventional love in your
life.

This prompt definitely was the reason why I stayed away from my reader today. I spent all day trying to figure out a smart or witty answer to this, but I just couldn’t come up with one. I didn’t want to read anyone else’s answer, because I feared that I wouldn’t be able to think for myself afterwards.

So here its is, straight up and probably not as unconventional as intended: my father. My father, who is technically my step father, bounced into my life straight from the beginning. It’s one of these cheesy love stories where, thankfully, no one dies or gets criminal. My father had been my mother’s best friend for years; when I was two, they fell in love. It will always be beyond me how my father was able to take in a child that wasn’t his and love that child like his own. Never, in all of the years, have I wished for my biological father to be with my mother, I never wanted anyone as a father but him. Every little girl looks up to her parents, but to the day, my father will always remain my idol, for teaching me to love unconditional, and yes, also slightly unconventional.

– C

 

 

 

One thought on “May 13: Unconventional Love

Leave a Reply

