Chitchat with an ancestor

If one of your late ancestors were to come back from the dead and join you for dinner, what things about your family would this person find the most shocking?

Unf. This is a really bad question to be answered by a German. Chitchat with our ancestors isn’t our biggest strength, since, you know, usually wars are involved. I really, really, have a hard time answering this question, but I suppose, an ancestor from times long passed would probably be shocked by the lax relationship my family has with each other.

Don’t get me wrong, of course the younger ones still respect the older ones, it’s just… all very easy. I like to have a glass of wine with mom or go to concerts with my dad. Also, there’s an unreal amount of divorce and re-marriage going on in my family, which is crazy cool, since I have a huge and super diverse family now, even though I’m only blood related to a few of them.

All in all, I definitely think morals and standards have changed and my ancestors probably would not agree with that. My family is a pretty charming bunch though, so he might just deal with it and get involved in the end.

– C

Leave a Reply

